I am Rikimaru; I am Shadow

Writer, Poet, Social Commentator

Love Aids

Have you ever felt like all wasn’t well with the world? I get that feeling sometimes.

It comes in snitches; not too pushy, just slowly, crawling up your spine and then all over you it’s there…; when you want to pray, while you are bathing, when waiting for a cab or even while at work. Something is wrong with the world.

Today is like that. I try my best to say my prayers eat something and make it early to work but I can’t stop the gnawing. It’s in my head, my heart, my thoughts, all at the same time! I can’t stand it. If only I could place my finger on it.

Perhaps its the air; stiff and dry, or the crowd; zombie like as we all speed down the Carter bridge praying we don’t get locked up in the inevitable Lagos go-slows. Oh, maybe it’s the fact that all I have on me is enough to take me to and fro work and then some… maybe a biscuit and bottled water. I still don’t get it.

Everyone looks dazed or perhaps it’s just me? I know I am sick. But of what? Its not headache or fever. I would have known by now. Maybe I’m love sick?

I have never had sex before, at least not until last week. He said he loved me and it would seal our love. I really don’t know what that means but everything is fine. I wonder what that makes us now.

1300hours: all is still not well with the world. I have cleared my desk and having lunch, a snack really. I am restless and I am sad. Yes, I think I realize that now. Was it right for me to do it with Timmy? I wonder if God would forgive me. But I love him and I don’t know if I won’t do it again.

He should have called me by now. I know he will. He always does. Nice, cute and loving Timmy. For us things are perfect. In our world things are always well.

1730hours: standing at Maroko sand-filled, I need to get to Obalende before it’s too dark to get a moderate fare to Ikeja. The crowd is piling and the buses seem to be shying away from the increase. I’m being pushed from left to right, not like I worry because, my phone is in my right hand and all the money I have on me is in my purse in my left hand. My hand bag contains only make-up. What would anyone want with that? I’m slowly beginning to get tired but it doesn’t matter right now… Timmy is calling!

I can’t hear so well, the noise is choking but I get breaks once in a while. He is sobbing. My baby is crying. Why? He doesn’t say. He just keeps saying he is sorry. I don’t understand. Is it another girl? I’ll face her. Perhaps he’s had an accident? But it doesn’t matter to me. I love him. He is not a girl or I would have feared and I am not pregnant. So?

Then I’m reeling, it can’t be. I’m asking him what he just said. My baby is not talking anymore. The phone is dead and on the floor. I don’t care if it’s stolen I really don’t care if I live.

People are around me lifting me, talking to me, asking me, shouting at me. But I can’t hear a thing. All that sticks are the words of my baby, my Timmy; precious jewel and future spouse: ‘Bisi, I am positive!’
I can’t comprehend anymore. Now I know that nothing is wrong with the world. It is me that all is not well with.

Leave a Reply

Contact

rikimaru@crowdkulture.com
Any unauthorized use, broadcasting, public performance, copying or re-blogging will constitute an infringement of the author's copyright.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,290 other followers

Subscribe for feed

Powered by FeedBurner

